IRONMAN 70.3 Barcelona | Liveblog live blogging


IRONMAN 70.3 Barcelona

  • Welcome to IRONMAN 70.3 Barcelona! What a thrilling field will be batlling for the crown on Sunday in Calella! Sylvain Sudrie (FRA) heads into the race with #1 as being the defending champion. It will be a tough one for him facing stars like Jan Frodeno (GER) or Frederic van Lierde (BEL) or Eneko Llanos (ESP). On the women's it's on Danish Camilla Pedersen to defend the crown. She faces a strong field including Eva Wutti from Austria, Germany's Ricarda Lisk and strong British like Lucy Gossage and Emma Pooley.
  • PRO Startlist Men:

    1 Sudrie Sylvain MPRO FRA (France)
    2 Frodeno Jan MPRO GER (Germany)
    3 Van Lierde Frederik MPRO BEL (Belgium)
    4 Llanos Eneko MPRO ESP (Spain)
    6 Stein Boris MPRO GER (Germany)
    8 Angel Fidalgo Miguel MPRO ESP (Spain)
    9 Costes Antony MPRO FRA (France)
    10 Kriat Maxim MPRO RUS (Russian Federation)
    11 Moreno Molins Albert MPRO ESP (Spain)
    12 Lopez Carlos MPRO ESP (Spain)
    13 Faure Herve MPRO FRA (France)
    14 Rota Sylvain MPRO FRA (France)
    15 Lange Patrick MPRO GER (Germany)
    16 Marais Stuart MPRO ZAF (South Africa)
    17 Morel Jeremy MPRO FRA (France)
    18 Torrades Xavier MPRO ESP (Spain)
    19 Veith Sebastian MPRO GER (Germany)
    21 Zasypkin Valentin MPRO RUS (Russian Federation)
    22 Estrangeiro Jose MPRO PRT (Portugal)
    24 Rulevskii Evgenii MPRO RUS (Russian Federation)
    25 Nikitin Evgeniy MPRO RUS (Russian Federation)
    26 Niederreiter Daniel MPRO AUT (Austria)
    27 McNamee David MPRO GBR (Great Britain)
    28 Linden Andreas MPRO SWE (Sweden)
    29 Le Guellec Ludovic MPRO FRA (France)
    30 Kastelein Nick MPRO AUS (Australia)
    31 Hawkins Travis MPRO USA (United States)
    32 Garcia Frederic MPRO FRA (France)
    33 Flagstad Frederik MPRO DNK (Denmark)
    35 Cottle David MPRO TTO (Trinidad and Tobago)
    36 Clavel Maurice MPRO GER (Germany)
    37 Cardona Garcia Antonio MPRO ESP (Spain)
    38 Boneta Herrera Xavier MPRO ESP (Spain)
    39 Breuer David MPRO GER (Germany)
    40 Candel Bart MPRO NLD (Netherlands)
    41 Bigot Benoit MPRO FRA (France)
    42 Backstedt Magnus MPRO SWE (Sweden)
    43 Nunez Fauste Xavier MPRO ESP (Spain)
    44 Vila Aguilar Lluis MPRO ESP (Spain)
    45 Rojas Guillem MPRO ESP (Spain)
    46 Gili Rico Oriol MPRO ESP (Spain)
    47 Munro Casey MPRO AUS (Australia)
    49 Belaubre Frederic MPRO FRA (France)
    53 Vansteelant Joerie MPRO BEL (Belgium)
    55 Cabarrou Romain MPRO FRA (France)
    56 Espinar Rafael MPRO ESP (Spain)
    57 Robinson Alistar MPRO GBR (Great Britain)
  • PRO Startlist Women:

    71 Pedersen Camilla WPRO DNK (Denmark)
    72 Wutti Eva WPRO AUT (Austria)
    73 Deckers Tine WPRO BEL (Belgium)
    74 Lisk Ricarda WPRO GER (Germany)
    75 Gossage Lucy WPRO GBR (Great Britain)
    76 Weerd Mirjam WPRO NLD (Netherlands)
    77 Stage Nielsen Maja WPRO DNK (Denmark)
    78 Schmitt Natascha WPRO GER (Germany)
    80 Bilham Emma WPRO CHE (Switzerland)
    81 Edwards Parys WPRO GBR (Great Britain)
    82 Gervais Annie WPRO CAN (Canada)
    83 Halasz Anna WPRO HUN (Hungary)
    84 King Kathryn WPRO GBR (Great Britain)
    85 Maury Elise WPRO FRA (France)
    86 Reymond Stephanie WPRO FRA (France)
    87 Tondeur Alexandra WPRO BEL (Belgium)
    88 Morel Charlotte WPRO FRA (France)
    89 Corachan Judith WPRO ESP (Spain)
    90 Rovira Garrido Anna WPRO ESP (Spain)
    91 Pooley Emma WPRO GBR (Great Britain)
  • Good morning at IRONMAN 70.3 Barcelona. 15 minutes to the start!
  • 5 minutes to go!
  • Beautiful morning in Calella - what a tough race will follow this shot of Gonzalo Marchena...

  • Transition atmosphere...

  • Last changes

  • An outstanding pro field makes ready. Including Jan Frodeno, Frederik van Lierde and Boris Stein.

  • Waiting for the gun..
  • The pro field is on its way in Calella - we will see a fast swim for sure - thanks not only to 2008 Olympic champion Jan Frodeno.
  • The start of the pro women

  • The age group field is rolling in

  • Water impression

  • What a crowd on a Sunday morning at 7 a.m...

  • Huge field in the water

  • Good test for Frankfurt today. Jan Frodeno, Frederik van Lierde will try to win the crown at the IRONMAN 70.3 European championship in July - today they meet for the first time since Kona 2014.
  • Jan Frodeno sets the pace in a hammering way as we can hear.
  • Camilla Pedersen and Ricarda Lisk seem to be out at the front.
  • They are coming, crowd is ready. Great audience here in Calella.
  • Top 20 Swim Finish Men:

    1 Guillem Rojas ESP 0:23:02
    2 Frederic Belaubre FRA 0:23:08 +0:00:06
    3 Jan Frodeno GER 0:23:40 +0:00:39
    4 Carlos Lopez ESP 0:23:42 +0:00:41
    5 Antony Costes FRA 0:23:54 +0:00:53
    6 Sylvain Sudrie FRA 0:23:56 +0:00:55
    7 David McNamee GBR 0:24:26 +0:01:24
    8 Nick Kastelein AUS 0:24:30 +0:01:28
    9 Miguel Angel Fidalgo ESP 0:24:34 +0:01:33
    10 Casey Munro AUS 0:24:35 +0:01:33
    11 Frederik Van Lierde BEL 0:24:53 +0:01:52
    12 Patrick Lange GER 0:24:56 +0:01:55
    13 Maurice Clavel GER 0:24:58 +0:01:57
    14 Sebastian Veith GER 0:25:01 +0:01:59
    15 Evgeniy Nikitin RUS 0:25:14 +0:02:12
    16 David Breuer GER 0:25:17 +0:02:15
    17 Eneko Llanos ESP 0:25:19 +0:02:18
    18 Xavier Torrades ESP 0:26:14 +0:03:12
    19 Jose Estrangeiro POR 0:26:21 +0:03:19
    20 Maxim Kriat RUS 0:26:21 +0:03:19
  • Belaubre and Frodeno are next to each other about 30 seconds behind.
  • Ricarda Lisk is out of the water - 28:30. 26 seconds behind is Camilla Pedersen.
  • He trains and lives a lot of the time in Spain - and he os hammering: Jan Frodeno.
  • Top 15 Swim Finish Women:

    1 Ricarda Lisk GER 0:26:52
    2 Charlotte Morel FRA 0:27:07 0:00:15
    3 Camilla Pedersen DEN 0:27:08 0:00:16
    4 Emma Bilham SUI 0:28:33 0:01:41
    5 Judith Corachan ESP 0:29:09 0:02:17
    6 Mirjam Weerd NED 0:29:21 0:02:29
    7 Lucy Gossage GBR 0:29:52 0:03:00
    8 Parys Edwards GBR 0:29:58 0:03:06
    9 Tine Deckers BEL 0:31:36 0:04:44
    10 Alexandra Tondeur BEL 0:31:41 0:04:49
    11 Maja Stage Nielsen DEN 0:32:04 0:05:12
    12 Annie Gervais CAN 0:32:41 0:05:49
    13 Elise Maury FRA 0:34:29 0:07:37
    14 Emma Pooley GBR 0:34:39 0:07:47
    15 Stephanie Reymond FRA 0:34:52 0:08:00
  • Ricarda Lisk on the way to her bike.

  • It's uphill and again - similar as in 2014 - it's time to attack for defending champion Sylvain Sudrie.
  • Jan Frodeno in T1 - ready to enter this race.

  • Guiellem Rojas led the race in the water.

  • Sylvain Sudrie in T1.

  • Camilla Pedersen meets the crowd.

  • Ready to rock it on the bike: Camilla Pedersen

  • Get out on the course: Great perspective.

  • Sylvain Sudrie exactly knows this course. He's heading into the first longer climb and expanding his lead as far as we can hear.
  • One of the most crowded places in Calella at the moment: T1.

  • Sylvain Sudrie leading.

  • Want to ride as fast as these guys?
  • What a chase group: Jan Frodeno sets the pace ahead of Frederik van Lierde and Antony Costes.
  • Great race of Frederik van Lierde so far - he was 1:52 behind in the water and has closed the gap to Jan Frodeno on the first 20 kms.
  • Sylvain Sudrie is on the way down the hill from Montseny - super fast.
  • Seems to be the right place to open up the gap for Sylvain Sudrie. He has an extremely talented runner behind.
  • Livecoverage @IRONMANLive thankx to @Ignasidc @marcelzamoratri @paulanewbyfrase

  • Jan Frodeno and Frederik van Lierde work together in a hard way to keep the gap as little as possible for a running battle.
  • Camilla Pedersen has made her break away. She is leading the race by four minutes, that's what we hear from our spotters.
  • Ricarda Lisk is 4 minutes behind Camilla Pedersen, in third is Tine Deckers at 6 minutes.
Who's Blogging
  • Volker.Boch
  • angela.pribernig
  • Jennifer WardJennifer Ward
  • Shawn SkeneShawn Skene