IRONMAN 70.3 Auckland | Page 3 | Liveblog live blogging


IRONMAN 70.3 Auckland

  • Craig Alexander and Tim Reed on the Auckland waterfront. Photo Daryl Carey

  • Meredith Kessler out in front in the women's race.

  • Leon Griffin remains second but is now some 30 seconds down on Reed. Cameron Brown (1:04) has now dislodged Craig Alexander (1:31) to take third as the run enters the final quarter.
  • Barring a late collapse, it would appear Reed - who finished fifth last year - is set for victory in the 2015 edition of IRONMAN 70.3 Auckland
  • Local hero Cameron Brown at the moment looks set to deny an Aussie clean sweep in the men's race.
  • @mbkessler completes the first half of the run three and a half minutes clear of @Gina_Crawford #im703Auckland
  • Tim Reed only a couple of minutes or so from the finish
  • Race announcer is trying to get a Mexican wave started to improve the atmosphere down at the finish.
  • At @Timboreed is crowned @IM703AUCKLAND men's elite champion for 2015 #im703Auckland
  • Well done, Tim Reed. Second is Leon Griffin to complete an Aussie 1-2.
  • Kiwi legend Cameron Brown completes the podium in third.
  • Five-time world champion Craig Alexander places fourth.
  • Meredith Kessler very close to closing out victory in the elite women's race.
  • Terenzo Bozzone on finishing 12th in the men's elite race says: "I thought I was close to 80 per cent fit but I was closer to 50 per cent fit."
  • By was of an update Kiwi duo Dylan McNeice was fifth and Callum Millward sixth in elite men's race.
  • @mbkessler dominates the women's elite race to take an emphatic gun to tape victory @IM703AUCKLAND #im703Auckland
  • Well done Meredith on yet another triumph on New Zealand soil after her three IRONMAN NZ victories.
  • Gina Crawford of New Zealand appears set for second in the women's elite race.
  • @Gina_Crawford secures second 3:20 back with fellow Kiwi Amelia Watkinson third (6:06) @IM703AUCKLAND #im703Auckland
  • Men's winner Tim Reed.

  • Men's podium - Leon Griffin, Tim Reed and Cameron Brown. (Photo Daryl Carey)

  • Women's winner Meredith Kessler. (Photo Daryl Carey)

    1 Tim REED  (Australia) 3:49:53
    2 Leon GRIFFIN  (Australia) 3:50:23
    3 Cameron BROWN  (New Zealand) 3:51:18
    4 Craig ALEXANDER  (Australia) 3:52:37
    5 Dylan MCNEICE  (New Zealand) 3:53:58
    6 Callum MILLWARD  (New Zealand) 3:54:30
    7 Mark BOWSTEAD  (New Zealand) 3:55:48
    8 Clark ELLICE  (New Zealand) 3:56:13
    9 James SEEAR  (Australia) 3:56:37
    10 Paul AMBROSE  (Australia) 4:00:28
    1 Meredith KESSLER  (USA) 4:20:11
    2 Gina CRAWFORD  (New Zealand) 4:23:32
    3 Amelia WATKINSON  (New Zealand) 4:26:17
    4 Anna RUSSELL  (New Zealand) 4:33:27
    5 Julia GRANT  (New Zealand) 4:40:48
    6 Melanie BURKE  (New Zealand) 4:42:11
    7 Kym COOGAN  (Australia) 4:44:05
    8 Kristy HALLETT  (Australia) 4:53:24
Who's Blogging
  • Stephen.Kane
  • Shawn SkeneShawn Skene
  • s.landells
  • hepenstall
  • ian.hepenstall
  • maria.walker